Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mick Ronson CD: "Heaven And Hull"

Sleeve and track listing

Epic 474742 2. (3 stars!)

  1. Don't Look Down (5:51)
  2. Like A Rolling Stone (4:20)
  3. When The World Falls Down (4:22)
  4. Trouble With Me (4:42)
  5. Life's A River (5:20)
  6. You And Me (3:09)
  7. Colour Me (4:57)
  8. Take A Long Line (3:04)
  9. Midnight Love (3:21)
  10. All The Young Dudes (3:48)

Running time: 43m 01s


After two poor-selling solo albums in the mid-70's, Mick shelved plans to work on a third solo album, preferring instead to work for other people (Bob Dylan, Ian Hunter, etc). He virtually gave up guitar in the mid-80's, preferring to concentrate on production work (mostly for lesser-known artists). After working again with Ian in the late 80's on the YUI Orta album and tour, he again started to think seriously about another solo album.

He continued to do production work, with Swedish band EC2 and with ex-Smiths Morrissey's solo album, when he was diagnosed with incurable liver cancer in late 1991. He continued to work on the album when his other commitments allowed, but the disease and the attendant chemo and radio therapy began to sap his strength.

Calling on favours from his many friends in the music business, this album is packed with many "names" such as Joe Elliott, David Bowie, John Mellencamp, Chrissie Hynde and Ian Hunter. Sadly, Mick didn't live to complete it, but it was eventually released a year after his death, to coincide with the Memorial Concert.