Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mick Ronson CD: "Main Man"

Sleeve and track listing

SMD CD 119. (1.5 stars!)

Disc 1:

  1. Billy Porter
  2. Angel No. 9
  3. Woman
  4. Seven Days
  5. Stone Love (Soul Love)
  6. Pain In The City
  7. Dogs (French Girl)
  8. 28 Days Jam
  9. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
  10. Only After Dark
  11. Pleasure Man/Hey Ma Get Papa
  12. Music Is Lethal

Disc 2:

  1. Empty Bed (Io Me Ne Andrei)
  2. White Light White Heat
  3. Hazy Days
  4. Woman (alternate take)
  5. Girl Can't Help It
  6. Life On Mars
  7. I'm The One
  8. Pain In The City
  9. Play Don't Worry
  10. Love Me Tender (live)


Hard on the heels of Snapper's release of Mick's first two solo albums comes this 2-CD set, which is effectively a "best of" compilation of those two individual CDs.

This is not a simple repackagaing of two individual CDs as a "best of" set. The running order is different, and seems to work well. Some of the "bonus" tracks from the individual CDs are included here, while others have been left off.

Sound quality is excellent; packaging less so. There are sleeve notes, of course, with the usual (short) biog about Mick, which didn't impress me at all. All the tracks on this CD have previously been issued. They even manage to include Pain In The City twice - why I don't know. For completists only.