Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter

Mott The Hoople unofficial LP: "Sticky Fingers"

Sleeve and track listing

Brigand BRIG 025. (4 stars!)

  1. The Moon Upstairs
  2. Whiskey Women
  3. Your Own Backyard
  4. Darkness Darkness
  5. The Journey
  6. Death May Be Your Santa Claus
  7. All The Young Dudes1

1David Bowie guide vocal version


Late in 1971, Mott entered the BBC's Paris Theatre to record their set for Radio 1's In Concert show. They were promoting the Brain Capers album at the time, so the set is biased heavily in favour of tracks from that album. It captures their live sound well, and is another strong performance. The source of this tape is a third or fourth-generation copy of the original BBC master and was released in 1991, and so sound quality is very good.

Although this set has now been granted an official release (Original Mixed Up Kids), Windsong changed the running order for that CD, so this (and the CD equivalent, Hoopling Furiously) is the only chance to hear that set in the original running order. However, due to the presence of an official (albeit deleted) release, I'll give this a "for die-hards only" recommendation.